The IMU Announces 2022 Medals and Prizes

On 5 July 2022, the IMU held the IMU Award Ceremony 2022 as a live event in Helsinki, Finland at Aalto University (Runeberginkatu 14–16, Aalto Töölö, 00100 Helsinki). Here the winners of the Fields Medals, IMU Abacus Medal, Chern Medal Award, Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize and Leelavati Prize were announced, and the awards handed over. The event was streamed live.

The recipients of the IMU Awards 2022 for mathematical achievement

Fields Medal

Hugo Duminil-Copin, a professor at the University of Geneva, Switzerland, and a permanent professor at the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, France, is recognized “for solving longstanding problems in the probabilistic theory of phase transitions in statistical physics, especially in dimensions three and four.”

June Huh, a professor at Princeton University, is recognized for his work in "bringing the idea of Hodge theory to combinatorics, the proof of the Dowling–Wilson conjecture for geometric lattices, the proof of the Heron–Rota–Welsh conjecture for matroids, the development of Lorentzian polynomials, and the proof of the strong Mason conjecture.”


James Maynard,  a professor at the University of Oxford, United Kingdom, is recognized “for contributions to analytic number theory, which have led to major advances in the understanding of the structure of prime numbers and in Diophantine approximation.”

Maryna Viazovska, a professor and chair of number theory at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland, is recognized “for the proof that the E8 lattice provides the densest packing of identical spheres in 8 dimensions, and further contributions to related extremal problems and interpolation problems in Fourier analysis.”

Abacus Medal

Mark Braverman, a professor at Princeton University, won the inaugural Abacus Medal “for his path-breaking research developing the theory of information complexity, a framework for using information theory to reason about communication protocols. His work has led to direct-sum theorems giving lower bounds on amortized communication, ingenious protocol compression methods and new interactive communication protocols resilient to noise.”

Gauss Prize

Elliott H. Lieb, a professor of mathematics and Higgins Professor of Physics (emeritus) at Princeton University, won the Gauss Prize for “deep mathematical contributions of exceptional breadth which have shaped the fields of quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, computational chemistry and quantum information theory.” 

Chern Medal

Barry Mazur, the Gerhard Gade University Professor at Harvard University, won the Chern Medal Award for “his profound discoveries in topology, arithmetic geometry and number theory, and his leadership and generosity in forming the next generation of mathematicians.” 

Recipient of the mathematical outreach prize

Leelavati Prize

Nikolai Andreev, the head of the Laboratory of Popularization and Promotion of Mathematics at the Steklov Institute, Russia, won the Leelavati Prize for “his contributions to the art of mathematical animation and of mathematical model-building, in a style which inspires the young and the old alike, and which mathematicians around the world can adapt to their varied uses as well as for his indefatigable efforts to popularize genuine mathematics among the public via videos, lectures and a prize-winning book.”

Read more about all the prizes and winners on the IMU website.